Election of WIPO Director General

WIPO Director GeneralThe term of office of WIPO Director General will expire on September 30, 2020.

Consequently, on September 30, 2019, in accordance with the constitutional provisions and procedures governing the nomination and appointment of Directors General of WIPO, Ambassador François Rivasseau, Permanent Representative of France to the United Nations Office at Geneva and other international organizations, in his capacity as Chair of the WIPO Coordination Committee, issued Note C. N 3926 inviting the Government of every State member of WIPO, if it so desired, to propose the name of one of its nationals as candidate for nomination by the WIPO Coordination Committee.

Ten candidatures for the post of Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) were received by 5 p.m. (Geneva time) on December 30, 2019, the deadline fixed for the submission of names.

The candidates are (in alphabetical order of names of candidates):

  • Prof. Adebambo Adewopo (Nigeria)
  • Mr. Marco Matías Alemán (Colombia)
  • Mr. Ivo Gagliuffi Piercechi (Peru)
  • Dr. Edward Kwakwa (Ghana)
  • Mr. Kenichiro Natsume (Japan)
  • Mr. Dámaso Pardo (Argentina)
  • Mr. Jüri Seilenthal (Estonia)
  • Mr. Daren Tang (Singapore)
  • Ms. Saule Tlevlessova (Republic of Kazakhstan)
  • Ms. WANG Binying (China)

The WIPO Coordination Committee, which is composed of 83 member states, will meet on March 5 and 6, 2020, to nominate a candidate for appointment to this position by the WIPO General Assembly, which is scheduled on May 7 and 8, 2020.

Source: WIPO